Geological surveys are among the oldest organizations of Canada’s federal, provincial and territorial governments. Initially established to encourage and regulate the development of mineral and energy resources, the geological surveys of the 21st century deliver public geoscience programs that contribute to a broad spectrum of economic, health and safety, environmental, and other public policy issues.
The National Geological Surveys Committee (NGSC) provides a forum for senior executives from Canada’s geological surveys to coordinate and integrate public geoscience activities across Canada. The NGSC members identify emerging geoscience issues, consult on best practices, seek out opportunities to cooperate and collaborate, prepare and provide reports and recommendations to Ministers responsible for geological surveys, and promote the value of public geoscience among Canadians. The NGSC reports annually to the Intergovernmental Working Group-Mines.
Executive 2017-18
Christian Bohm (Co-chair)
Louise Laverdure (Co-chair)
New Brunswick
Leslie Fyffe, Director, Energy & Mines, Geological Survey Branch
Geological Survey Branch, Hugh John Flemming Forestry Centre
PO Box 6000 Fredericton, NB E3B 5H1
Phone: 506-444-5005
Linda Ham, Chief Geologist
Canada-Nunavut Geoscience Office , 1106 Ikaluktuutiak Dr.
PO Box 2319 Iqaluit, NU X0A 0H0
Phone: 867-975-4412
Jack Parker, Director
Ontario Geological Survey, Willet Green Miller Ctr, Level B6
933 Ramsey Lake Rd. P3E 6B5
Phone: 705-670-5924
Carolyn Relf, Director
Yukon Geologial Survey , Box 2703, K-14 Whitehorse, YK Y1A 2C6
Phone: 867-667-8892
Andrew Beaton, Vice President
Alberta Geological Survey, 402, Twin Atria Building 4999 - 98 Ave.
Edmonton, AB T6B 2X3
Phone: 780-427-3272
British Columbia
Steve Rowins, Executive Director/Chief Geologist
British Columbia Geological Survey, 1810 Blanshard St. Victoria, BC
Phone: 250-952-0454
Christian Bohm, Chief Geologist
Manitoba Mineral Survey, 360-1395 Ellice Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R3G 3P2
Phone: 204-945-6549
Martin Batterson, Director, Geological Survey Branch
Department of Mines and Energy, Natural Resources Bldg
50 Elizabeth Ave. PO Box 8700, St. John´s, NL A1B 4J6
Phone: 709-729-3419
Northwest Territories
John Ketchum, Director/Administration
NT Geological Survey , PO Box 1320 4601-B 52 Ave.
Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9
Phone: 867-767-9211 ext. 62300
Nova Scotia
Brian Fisher, Director, Geological Services
Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources, 1701 Holis Street
PO Box 698 , Halifax N.S. B3J 2T9
Phone: 902-717-2890
Patrice Roy, Directeur, Bureau de la connaissance geoscientfique du QC
Ministère de l´Énergie et des Ressources naturelles, 400 boulevard Lamaque
bureau 1.02 Val-d´Or, QC J9P 3L4
Phone: 819-354-4514 ext. 245
Gary Delaney, Chief Geologist
Saskatchewan Geological Survey Minerals, Lands and Resource Policy Division
1000, 2103 - 11th Ave., Regina, SK S4P 3Z8
Phone: 306-787-1160
Natural Resources Canada
Daniel Lebel, Director General
Natural Resources Canada, 601 Booth Street Ottawa
Ontario K1A 0E8
Phone: 613-995-6575
Natural Resources Canada
Louise Laverdure, A/Director General
601 Booth Street, Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0E8
Phone: 613-992-6438
Terms of Reference
Mineral Programs